Tags

,

I think every blogger has done their review of the ‘50 Shades of Grey’ film by now so I thought I would offer my own review done slightly differently as limerick style:

Upon watching ’50 Shades of Grey’, slightly bored

Miss Fitzgerald turned to her friend and was overheard:

“Grey’s red room of pain

Seems rather tame,

Especially compared to EL James’ written word”

In fact, the phrase: “You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear” could be an even more succinct review of the film. I have to say, I rather enjoyed it. My expectations were set so low from reading the book that anything was a vast improvement on having to suffer through EL James’ writing.

As we came out of the cinema, my friend was practically ranting and raving about how people will walk out of the film and think that that is what BDSM is like, that Mr Grey’s behaviours are acceptable and it is a travesty to the kink community. I had to remind her that this was an audience that giggled upon the sight of pubic hair (thank you Sam Taylor-Johnson for showing actual adult pubic hair. I don’t think some of the younger audience knew what it was) and they are more likely to continue to giggle away at it than genuinely explore it.

However, those that are intrigued will most likely do some research and find amongst the many, many reviews of both the book and the film, important information on consent in BDSM and appropriate non-stalkerish behaviour in relationships.

I also had to point out that EL James was one of the producers (some of us do read the credits!), which may have something to do with the fact that Mr Grey’s character had not changed as much as he could have done with more artistic licence.

The delicious Jamie Dornan, as promised to my friend J when I told her I was writing a blog post on 50 Shades. See…here you go!)

The delicious Jamie Dornan, as promised to my friend J when I told her I was writing a blog post on 50 Shades. There you go…

Although my Inner Goddess did not do the dance of the seven veils or jump up and down with cheerleading pom poms when she saw Grey’s Red Room of pain, it produced the green-eyed monster in her, especially over his very sturdy cuffs, some real horsehair whips and the Mark Brazier Tally Ho chairs (in green velvet no less). In fact, seeing those were the parts where I’m pretty sure I heard my Inner Goddess squeal with delight. I then shut her up with another overpriced pick and mix sweet.

